Season 1

The first season of the animated comedy series Family Guy aired on Fox from January 31, 1999, to May 16, 1999, and consisted of seven episodes. The series also aired on Fox Family on January 5, 2000, to February 16, 2000. The series follows the dysfunctional Griffin family—father Peter, mother Lois, daughter Meg, son Chris, baby Stewie and their anthropomorphic dog Brian, all of whom reside in their hometown of Quahog. The show features the voices of series creator Seth MacFarlane, Alex Borstein, Seth Green, and Lacey Chabert in the roles of the Griffin family. The executive producers for the first season were David Zuckerman and MacFarlane. The series premiere, "Death Has a Shadow", was broadcast directly after Super Bowl XXXIII and was watched by 22.01 million viewers. The series received praise from most critics, particularly "I Never Met the Dead Man" and "Brian: Portrait of a Dog". however some critics disliked the themes of the episodes. The Volume One DVD box set, including all seven episodes and the second season, was released in Region 1 on April 15, 2003, Region 2 on November 12, 2001, and Region 4 on October 20, 2003. The series has since been released in syndication.

Season episodes list 1


S01E01 : Death has a Shadow 7.96/10 (aired on 01/31/1999)

After Peter heavily drinks at a bachelor party, even though he told Lois he would not, he gets…

S01E02 : I Never Met the Dead Man 7.68/10 (aired on 04/11/1999)

While teaching Meg to drive, Peter crashes into the town satellite dish, which knocks out the…

S01E03 : Chitty Chitty Death Bang 7.78/10 (aired on 04/18/1999)

Peter Allows Meg to go to a party with her new friend. This angers Lois because its the same day as…

S01E04 : Mind Over Murder 7.6/10 (aired on 04/25/1999)

At Chris' soccer game, Peter gets into a fight with a woman, that he thought was a man, and punches…

S01E05 : A Hero Sits Next Door 7.59/10 (aired on 05/02/1999)

When the Griffin Family gets new neighbors that move in next door, Lois quickly becomes friends…

S01E06 : The Son Also Draws 7.31/10 (aired on 05/09/1999)

Chris loses interest in being a youth scout, as he would rather pursue drawing and art instead. The…

S01E07 : Brian: Portrait of a Dog 7.59/10 (aired on 05/16/1999)

When a heat wave hits Quahog, Peter gets Brian to enter a dog show to win $500 so that the family…