Season 1

Modern Family takes a refreshing and funny view of what it means to raise a family in this hectic day and age. Multi-cultural relationships, adoption, and same-sex marriage are just a few of the timely issues faced by the show’s three wildly-diverse broods. No matter the size or shape, family always comes first in this hilariously “modern” look at life, love, and laughter.

Season episodes list 1


S01E01 : Pilot 8.25/10 (aired on 09/23/2009)

Jay is having trouble keeping up with his new young Colombian wife and her son. Claire is having…

S01E02 : Run for Your Wife 7.86/10 (aired on 10/28/2009)

Claire is happy to have the house to herself on the first day of school, but Phil does not share…

S01E03 : The Bicycle Thief 8.13/10 (aired on 09/30/2009)

As Phil helps his son show Claire he can be trusted, Phil turns out to be the irresponsible one at…

S01E04 : Come Fly with Me 7.96/10 (aired on 10/07/2009)

Phil pushes Jay to go out with him and fly his new model plane. While Manny takes time out to play…

S01E05 : The Incident 8.24/10 (aired on 10/14/2009)

Claire and Mitchell's mother makes a surprise visit to make amends for what has been termed "the…

S01E06 : Coal Digger 8.24/10 (aired on 10/21/2009)

A family barbecue gets uncomfortable for Gloria and Claire after an incident at school involving…

S01E07 : En Garde 8.05/10 (aired on 11/04/2009)

The whole family comes out to support Manny's newfound interest - fencing. It turns out he's quite…

S01E08 : Great Expectations 8.05/10 (aired on 11/18/2009)

With a history of giving bad gifts, Claire is determined to surprise Phil with an amazing…

S01E09 : Fizbo 8.6/10 (aired on 11/25/2009)

Nothing is too big when Phil and Claire decide to throw Luke the biggest and best birthday party a…

S01E10 : Undeck the Halls 7.95/10 (aired on 12/09/2009)

The Dunphy kids are in trouble again, but this time Claire and Phil are threatening to take…

S01E11 : Up All Night 8.13/10 (aired on 01/06/2010)

Gloria does not like Jay's reaction to the arrival of Manny's father; Phil is rushed to the…

S01E12 : Not in My House 7.85/10 (aired on 01/13/2010)

When Claire finds a dirty picture on the computer and assumes it's Luke's doing, a guilty Phil…

S01E13 : Fifteen Percent 8.14/10 (aired on 01/20/2010)

Mitchell plants the seed in Jay's head that he thinks one of Jay's old buddies might be secretly…

S01E14 : Moon Landing 8.12/10 (aired on 02/03/2010)

Claire is upset to find that her friend Valerie is better than her. In the meantime Mitchell helps…

S01E15 : My Funky Valentine 8.7/10 (aired on 02/10/2010)

Phil and Claire break from their traditional Valentine's Day dinner date and plan a little "role…

S01E16 : Fears 7.95/10 (aired on 03/03/2010)

Phil and Luke go into crawlspace under the house, Hayley takes her drivers test, Manny tries to get…

S01E17 : Truth Be Told 7.86/10 (aired on 03/10/2010)

Phil meets an old girlfriend on Facebook. Jay accidentally kills Manny's turtle. Mitchell tells his…

S01E18 : Starry Night 8.03/10 (aired on 03/24/2010)

Jay and Mitchell go on their traditional father-and-son outing to see the meteor showers, but…

S01E19 : Game Changer 7.86/10 (aired on 03/31/2010)

iPad release day falls on Phil's birthday, giving Claire an opportunity to finally score an ideal…

S01E20 : Benched 7.78/10 (aired on 04/14/2010)

During an intense basketball game, Luke and Manny's coach quits, which leads to Jay and Phil…

S01E21 : Travels with Scout 7.88/10 (aired on 04/28/2010)

Claire is caught off guard when Phil's father shows up in an RV with a little four legged friend,…

S01E22 : Airport 2010 8.23/10 (aired on 05/05/2010)

For Jay's birthday, Gloria gives him the best surprise -- a romantic birthday getaway to Hawaii --…

S01E23 : Hawaii 8.44/10 (aired on 05/12/2010)

Jay's plans to do nothing but relax on vacation are interrupted by an unwelcome reality check.…

S01E24 : Family Portrait 8.52/10 (aired on 05/19/2010)

Claire makes an effort to take a new family portrait, but everybody is too busy to cooperate:…
  • banner
  • Original title

    Modern Family

  • Type

    TV series

  • Episodes

    5 Seasons • 88 Episodes

  • Rating

    8.49/10 (282 336 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin


  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    25 :

  • Website…

  • Status

    Returning series