Rumpole of the Bailey

Horace Rumpole (played by the late Leo McKern) is an untidy, ageing London barrister who defends in criminal cases. His clients rarely cut elegant figures. He is fond of red wine, poetry, and fair dealing, and is not looked on as a great success by his wife ('She Who Must Be Obeyed'). Rumpole has had a few triumphs, and the Penge Bungalow murders are often on his mind... Rumpole shares Chambers at Number 3, Equity Court, with a mixed group of barrister colleagues, including Guthrie Featherstone (Peter Bowles) and Phyllida Trant (Patricia Hodge). He also takes pupils - notably Fiona Allways (played by Rosalyn Landor) and Liz Probert. The creator and writer of the series, Sir John Mortimer, received an Edgar Allan Poe Award for crime and mystery for Rumpole.

TV series created in 1978 and concluded in 1992 by John Mortimer.
The show consists of 7 seasons and 44 episodes.


S07E06 : Rumpole on Trial 8.88/10 (50 voting)


S06E01 : Rumpole a la Carte 8.6/10 (31 voting)


S05E03 : Rumpole and the Age of Miracles 8.6/10 (30 voting)



  • banner
  • Original title

    Rumpole of the Bailey

  • Type

    TV series

  • Episodes

    7 Seasons • 44 Episodes

  • Rating

    8.5/10 (831 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin


  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    60 :

  • Status