Sense and Sensibility (1981)

Sense and Sensibility is a 1981 BBC television adaptation of Jane Austen's novel. The seven-part series was dramatized by Alexander Baron, and directed by Rodney Bennett. Following the plot of the novel, it tells "a story of two sisters attempting to find happiness in the tightly structured society of 18th century England. Elinor, disciplined, restrained and very conscious of the manners of the day, represents sense. Outspoken, impetuous, emotional Marianne represents sensibility. Attracted to a man already promised to another, Elinor suffers silently to keep scandal away from her family. Marianne enjoys a flirtation with a handsome scoundrel that could lead to her downfall. Through their experiences with men and their relationship with each other, they learn that neither sense nor sensibility is enough, but that one must strive for a balance of the two."


The show consists of 1 season and 7 episodes.


Irene Richards
Elinor Dashwood
Tracey Childs Tracey Childs
Marianne Dashwood
Annie Leon
Mrs. Jennings
Robert Swann
Colonel Brandon
Donald Douglas Donald Douglas
Sir John Middleton
Marjorie Bland
Lady Middleton
Bosco Hogan Bosco Hogan
Edward Ferrars
John Owens John Owens
Gina Rowe
Diana Fairfax
Mrs. Dashwood
Peter Gale
John Dashwood

Similar TV Shows

Pride and Prejudice
Little Dorrit
Wives and Daughters
The Pillars of the Earth

  • banner
  • Original title

    Sense and Sensibility

  • Type

  • Episodes

    1 Season • 7 Episodes

  • Rating

    6.8/10 (739 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin


  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    174 :

  • Website…

  • Status