Season 1

The players of a virtual reality MMORPG, Sword Art Online, are trapped and fighting for their very lives. After it is announced that the only way to leave the game is by beating it, Kirito—a very powerful swordsman—and his friends take on a quest to free all the minds trapped in Aincrad.

Season episodes list 1


S01E01 : The World of Swords 8.31/10 (aired on 07/07/2012)

On November 6, 2022, the VRMMORPG, Sword Art Online (SAO), is officially released, with 10,000…

S01E02 : Beater 7.97/10 (aired on 07/14/2012)

One month since the start of the fun-turned-deadly game, 2,000 players have already died, and the…

S01E03 : The Red-Nosed Reindeer 8.14/10 (aired on 07/21/2012)

Four months have past with more powerful players and guilds clearing the game's floors. After…

S01E04 : The Black Swordsman 8.13/10 (aired on 07/28/2012)

On February 23, 2024, a beast tamer named Silica, quits a party after arguing with their leader,…

S01E05 : Murder in the Safe Zone 7.67/10 (aired on 08/04/2012)

During a meeting between guilds and players on March 6, 2024 on the 56th floor, Asuna, who has now…

S01E06 : Illusionary Avenger 7.75/10 (aired on 08/11/2012)

Kirito chases after the assassin but he manages to teleport away. Kirito is still unsure how it was…

S01E07 : The Temperature of the Heart 8.06/10 (aired on 08/18/2012)

On June 24, 2024 at Lindas on 48th floor, Asuna visits her friend the blacksmith Lisbeth or "Liz"…

S01E08 : The Sword Dance of Black and White 7.97/10 (aired on 08/25/2012)

After adventuring on the 74th floor, Kirito finds a Ragout Rabbit, a rare animal with top grade…

S01E09 : The Blue-Eyed Demon 8.52/10 (aired on 09/01/2012)

Kirito and Asuna flee from the boss and take a break for a snack when they meet Klein and the…

S01E10 : Crimson Killing Intent 8.54/10 (aired on 09/08/2012)

The duel between Kirito and Heathcliff is held at an arena where a large crowd has gathered. Asuna…

S01E11 : The Girl of Morning Dew 7.38/10 (aired on 09/15/2012)

Kirito and Asuna take a break at their new home in a secluded village in the 22th floor. As the two…

S01E12 : Yui's Heart 8.03/10 (aired on 09/22/2012)

Kirito, Asuna and Yui are resting at Sasha's church where she takes care of the younger children…

S01E13 : Edge of Hell's Abyss 8.25/10 (aired on 09/29/2012)

While fishing near a lake, Kirito encounters Nishida, an old man and a network security manager who…

S01E14 : The End of the World 8.9/10 (aired on 10/06/2012)

After the group defeats the Skull Reaper, suffering 14 casualties in the battle, Kirito deduces…

S01E15 : Return 7.66/10 (aired on 10/13/2012)

Even two months after he had been logged out of SAO, Kazuto continues to be plagued with nightmares…

S01E16 : Land of the Fairies 7.45/10 (aired on 10/20/2012)

Kazuto visits Egil, who explains that the photo he sent came from ALfheim Online, an MMO where…

S01E17 : Captive Queen 7.46/10 (aired on 10/27/2012)

Lyfa thanks Kirito for saving her and teaches him how to fly properly. They then travel to the…

S01E18 : To the World Tree 7.34/10 (aired on 11/03/2012)

After recalling how she got into VR gaming, Suguha meets up with Recon's real life persona,…

S01E19 : The Lugru Corridor 7.57/10 (aired on 11/10/2012)

While passing through a cave, Leafa receives a message from Recon cautioning her to take care. She…

S01E20 : General of the Blazing Flame 7.84/10 (aired on 11/17/2012)

Kirito and Leafa reach the place of the meeting just as the Salamanders prepare to attack the…

S01E21 : The Truth About Alfheim 7.32/10 (aired on 11/25/2012)

Kirito and Leafa reach Arun, the capital of Alfheim, located directly beneath the world tree.…

S01E22 : The Grand Quest 7.93/10 (aired on 12/01/2012)

Leafa tries to stop kirito as he dashes for the lower branches of the world tree only to be stopped…

S01E23 : Bonds 7.87/10 (aired on 12/08/2012)

Kazuto recalls when he was ten, he learn he was not related with Suguha, leading him to become…

S01E24 : Gilded Hero 7.88/10 (aired on 12/15/2012)

Arriving at the top of the World Tree, Kirito and Yui finally manage to reunite with Asuna.…

S01E25 : The World Seed 7.76/10 (aired on 12/22/2012)

Rushing to the hospital Kazuto is attacked by an injured Sugou with a knife at the parking area.…
  • banner
  • Original title


  • Type

    TV series

  • Episodes

    3 Seasons • 75 Episodes

  • Rating

    7.82/10 (23 984 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin


  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    24 :

  • Website


  • Status

    Returning series