Season 1

The Simpsons' first season originally aired between December 17, 1989 and May 13, 1990, beginning with the Christmas special "Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire". The executive producers for the first production season were Matt Groening, James L. Brooks, and Sam Simon. The series was originally set to debut in late 1989 with the episode "Some Enchanted Evening", which was meant to introduce the main characters; during the first screening of the episode, the producers discovered that the animation was so appalling that 70% of the episode needed to be redone. The producers considered aborting the series if the next episode turned out as bad, but it only suffered from easily fixable problems. The producers convinced Fox to move the debut to December 17, and aired "Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire" as the first episode of the series. The first season won one Emmy Award, and received four additional nominations. The DVD boxset was released on September 25, 2001 in Region 1 and September 24, 2001 in both Region 2 and Region 4. Season one was also released for the iTunes Store on December 22, 2010, dubbed a "digital edition."

Season episodes list 1


S01E01 : Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire 8.17/10 (aired on 12/17/1989)

When his Christmas bonus is cancelled, Homer becomes a department-store Santa--and then bets his…

S01E02 : Bart the Genius 7.78/10 (aired on 01/14/1990)

After switching IQ tests with Martin, Bart is mistaken for a child genius. When he's enrolled in a…

S01E03 : Homer's Odyssey 7.38/10 (aired on 01/21/1990)

Homer is fired for nearly causing a meltdown at the nuclear plant. When he finds a new calling as a…

S01E04 : There's No Disgrace Like Home 7.79/10 (aired on 01/28/1990)

After an embarrassing experience at the company picnic, Homer pawns the TV and uses the proceeds to…

S01E05 : Bart the General 8.07/10 (aired on 02/04/1990)

Fed up with Nelson's bullying, the kids from Springfield Elementary decide to teach him a lesson.…

S01E06 : Moaning Lisa 7.58/10 (aired on 02/11/1990)

When Lisa get a bad case of the blues, jazz musician Bleeding Gums Murphy teaches her how to…

S01E07 : The Call of the Simpsons 7.87/10 (aired on 02/18/1990)

Homer buys an RV and the family takes off on an ill-fated camping trip.

S01E08 : The Telltale Head 7.68/10 (aired on 02/25/1990)

Bart tries to impress the school bullies by stealing the head of the Jebediah Springfield statue in…

S01E09 : Life on the Fast Lane 7.49/10 (aired on 03/18/1990)

Homer gives Marge a bowling ball for her birthday, and his self-serving gift backfires: she starts…

S01E10 : Homer's Night Out 7.39/10 (aired on 03/25/1990)

Bart puts his new spy camera to use when Homer gets rowdy at a bachelor party, and the…

S01E11 : The Crepes of Wrath 7.79/10 (aired on 04/15/1990)

Bart is sent as a foreign exchange student to France, where he is enslaved by corrupt winemakers.…

S01E12 : Krusty Gets Busted 8.28/10 (aired on 04/29/1990)

Krusty the Clown gets busted for robbing the Kwik-E-Mart, with Homer as an eyewitness. Convinced…

S01E13 : Some Enchanted Evening 7.88/10 (aired on 05/13/1990)

While Homer takes Marge out for a night on the town, the kids spot their babysitter on America's…