The Smurfs

The Smurfs is a comic and television franchise centred on a group of small blue fictional creatures called Smurfs, created and first introduced as a series of comic strips by the Belgian cartoonist Peyo (pen name of Pierre Culliford) on October 23, 1958. The original term and the accompanying language came during a meal Peyo was having with his colleague and friend André Franquin at the Belgian Coast. Having momentarily forgotten the word "salt", Peyo asked him (in French) to pass the schtroumpf. Franquin jokingly replied: "Here's the Schtroumpf — when you are done schtroumpfing, schtroumpf it back..." and the two spent the rest of that weekend speaking in "schtroumpf language". The name was later translated into Dutch as Smurf, which was adopted in English.

TV series created in 1981 and concluded in 1989 by Peyo.
The show consists of 9 seasons and 428 episodes.


S01E36 : The Clockwork Smurf 7.88/10 (198 voting)


S06E01 : Smurfquest (1) 7.71/10 (27 voting)


S07E06 : The Smurfstalker 7.66/10 (16 voting)




William Callaway
Clumsy Smurf (voice)
Danny Goldman Danny Goldman
Brainy Smurf (voice)
Hamilton Camp Hamilton Camp
Greedy Smurf (voice)
Paul Winchell Paul Winchell
Gargamel (voice)
Lucille Bliss Lucille Bliss
Smurfette (voice)
June Foray June Foray
Jokey Smurf (voice)
Michael Bell Michael Bell
Handy Smurf (voice)
Frank Welker Frank Welker
Hefty Smurf (voice)
Don Messick Don Messick
Papa Smurf (voice)

Similar TV Shows

Batman: The Animated Series
Naruto Shippūden
Young Justice

  • banner
  • Original title

    The Smurfs

  • Type

    TV series

  • Episodes

    9 Seasons • 428 Episodes

  • Rating

    7.28/10 (11 505 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin

    BE US

  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    11 : • 22 :

  • Website

  • Status