Season 5

Season five begins with Ivar the Boneless asserting his leadership over the Great Heathen Army, while Lagertha reigns as Queen of Kattegat. Ivar’s murder of his brother Sigurd sets the stage for vicious battles to come as Ragnar’s sons plot their next moves after avenging their father’s death. Bjorn follows his destiny into the Mediterranean Sea and Floki who is suffering from the loss of his wife Helga, takes to the seas submitting himself to the will of the Gods. This season is full of startling alliances and unbelievable betrayals as the Vikings fight to rule the world.

Season episodes list 5


S05E01 : The Departed (Part 1) (aired on 11/29/2017)

Tensions mount between the sons of Ragnar Lothbrok as the Vikings continue to threaten the very…

S05E02 : The Departed (Part 2) 7.71/10 (aired on 11/29/2017)

As the army moves to take York, with King Aethelwulf and his family still in hiding, Heahmund, the…

S05E03 : Homeland 7.64/10 (aired on 12/06/2017)

Celebrations are cut short in the aftermath of the battle at York; Ragnar Lothbrok's sons are…

S05E04 : The Plan 6.77/10 (aired on 12/13/2017)

Guided by Bishop Heahmund's visions, the Saxons devise a battle plan. Ivar the Boneless strategizes…

S05E05 : The Prisoner 7.8/10 (aired on 12/20/2017)

Ivar meets his match in Bishop Heahmund; Floki returns to Kattegat; Bjorn receives a lavish welcome…

S05E06 : The Message (aired on 12/27/2017)

Lagertha is betrayed, and Bjorn must find a way to support the distraught queen; Floki and his…

S05E07 : Full Moon 7.89/10 (aired on 01/03/2018)

Bjorn returns to Kattegat to learn that an attack will take place during the next full moon; Ivar…

S05E08 : The Joke 7.55/10 (aired on 01/10/2018)

The battle for Kattegat begins and the Great Heathen Army must decide between a final plea for…

S05E09 : A Simple Story 7.91/10 (aired on 01/17/2018)

The army leaders consider their options in the aftermath of the battle. In Floki's camp, all hopes…

S05E10 : Moments of Vision 7.31/10 (aired on 01/24/2018)

A sense of doom looms over Kattegat as bloodshed ensues. The defeated army flees in the face of the…

S05E11 : The Revelation (aired on 11/28/2018)

Ivar is crowned the new king of Kattegat just in time to welcome Rollo home. Bjorn, Lagertha, and…

S05E12 : Murder Most Foul (aired on 12/05/2018)

Bjorn, Lagertha, and Ubbe face an uncertain fate as Heahmund’s loyalty is tested. In Iceland, Floki…

S05E13 : A New God (aired on 12/12/2018)

Heahmund must try to convince King Alfred that his actions are in defense of the Crown. Ubbe and…

S05E14 : The Lost Moment (aired on 12/19/2018)

As the celebrations for Ivar continue in Kattegat, grief hits Iceland, and Floki must now make a…

S05E15 : Hell (aired on 12/26/2018)

Bishop Heahmund is wracked with guilt as he fights to renounce his passions. Viking will clash with…

S05E16 : The Buddha (aired on 01/02/2019)

Bjorn achieves one of Ragnar's dreams. Back in Kattegat, Ivar hatches a new plan while preparing…

S05E17 : The Most Terrible Thing (aired on 01/09/2019)

An unexpected turn amongst the settlers leaves Floki powerless. King Alfred confronts Judith. In…

S05E18 : Baldur (aired on 01/16/2019)

Hvitserk is severely tested. Floki makes an amazing discovery. Freydis gives Ivar a surprise. Ubbe…

S05E19 : What Happens in the Cave (aired on 01/23/2019)

Ubbe is forced into hand-to-hand combat. Floki reaches new depths and is met by a shocking sight.…

S05E20 : Ragnarok (aired on 01/30/2019)

A new battle for Kattegat is on and only the gods know who will emerge victorious.
  • banner
  • Original title


  • Type

    TV series

  • Episodes

    5 Seasons • 70 Episodes

  • Rating

    8.6/10 (263 502 voting)

  • Popularity : 100%

  • Country of origin


  • Original language(s)


  • Running time

    44 : • 60 :

  • Website…

  • Status

    Returning series